Cooking with TPACK

This week my CEP 810 class gave me a very unique challenge. First I had to make a fruit salad with three kitchen tools that were chosen for me without knowledge of what I was making. Then I had to make connections between that challenge and teaching. At first I was a bit confused but after filming the challenge I began to make the connections.

I was given a plate, small bowl and bottle opener to make a fruit salad regardless of whether or not the tools were right for the job. In teaching we know our basic task–teach the kids the content. However we don’t always have every tool available to us. It would be great to have endless amounts of resources and time to teach but that isn’t the case. We have to use our personal teaching pedagogy and content knowledge (TPACK) to figure out how to use the technology and resources available to us to teach our students. Often we have to repurpose tools and technology for educational use.

This week I watched a keynote Dr. Punya Mishra gave for the 21st Century Learning Conference in Hong Kong in 2012 where he claimed there wasn’t such thing as educational technology, “just a variety of different technology to repurpose and customize for our needs.” That resonated with me because often educators attempt to wait for some sort of educational technology to save the day or make teaching easier but that just isn’t the case. We need to look at what is already out there and repurpose it for our needs.  In the challenge we had a clear task but not always the right tools. We had to use our knowledge about cooking to repurpose the tools to work for our needs. So I’ll leave you with the video but fair warning it’s not as energetic as I was hoping for. Have a laugh:

2 thoughts on “Cooking with TPACK

  1. druinok says:

    “However we don’t always have every tool available to us. It would be great to have endless amounts of resources and time to teach but that isn’t the case.”

    Great quote! In the classroom, I’m very good at being resourceful and making do with what I have, but when given a new prep, I have to figure out new tricks of the trade. Thanks for thinking push today!

    Like

  2. Ben Rimes says:

    Hmmm, a peach and avacado salad….not sure on that one 🙂

    Nice work on the challenge, and good thoughts about the video you watched this week. We will never have the right tools for what we need to do in the classroom, so it’s a good idea to constantly be looking for smaller ways to adjust and repurpose the tools we do have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

