Networked Learning Project 3: iMovie Success

Here we are on week five of this Networked Learning Challenge that I was given and I’m proud of the progress I made. You can see the challenge and my progress through my previous two posts (Blog 1 and blog 2). Now I have succesfully created an entry event for a project I will use next year with iMovie! I’ve made a video, in iMovie of course, to highlight my progress through the challenge. I learned how to upload pictures and video, edit them, add sound and text, add transitions and even themes. This summary video may even highlight some of the skills I learned better than my entry event video! Take a look at my journey here:

Here is the full entry event I created for my class this year. Only a portion was highlighted in the video above. It will be used to launch a dartboard project in a mathematics class.

Using iMovie has been on my to-do list for almost three years now. I’m very happy that I have started to tackle this production tool and hope to continue improving my skills this year as I create more videos for my class. Part of this challenge was to learn this new skill only using YouTube and Help forums. As highlighted in the video my main source was a YouTube tutorial video titled iMovie Tutorial for iPad iOS 9 2016. I had to do a couple of searches before landing on something useful for the version of iMovie I have to work with but ultimately it was a very useful video. The hardest part of the challenge for me was not asking others around me an only using the Internet. I know a lot of people who already use iMovie but I had to refrain from reaching out to them to complete the task. After that hurdle I really enjoyed learning a new task this way. It was not as time consuming as I thought it was going to be which is great as a teacher!

In teaching, I often use networked learning to come up with and create new project ideas. The mix of in person and online learning helps to create relevant and authentic projects. I plan to continue to learn in this way and will not be timid when trying to learn something new, like iMovie. It may be less complicated to figure out than I anticipate and there are probably some excellent resources on the web already for me to use.

When I think about my students I know they are already using this idea of networked learning. I see it on their iPads when they are trying to beat the next level of a game or when they are trying to figure out how to do their hair for prom. I see it on Facebook when they repost cooking videos or the next trick for Pokemon Go. I have even required it when I ask them to do secondary research when we start projects. The next step is to help them realize some of the same sources they start to gather information for their hobbies from can be useful places to start for their academic studies. The same set of skills can transfer if they know how to correctly search for what they are looking for and sort out uncreditable and creditable sources.

As a new school year is about to start I am excited to use iMovie in the classroom and to encourage networked learning with my students.

 

References

Klein, C. (2015, December 23). iMovie Tutorial for iPad IOS 9 2016. Retrieved July 28, 2016, from https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SFaUqwKAr2g

One thought on “Networked Learning Project 3: iMovie Success

  1. Ben Rimes says:

    I love the connections you made back to the observations of your students using Youtube in a similar fashion to learn what they need, when they need it. The training industry calls this “just in time” learning, and it’s great that you were able to see a universal truth in this for all learners…most self-motivated learning happens like this. I’m really enjoying the way you put together your final learning piece, with a walk through all of the steps alongside some of the original iMovie footage you created.

    The project outline via video was nice, and appropriate given the visual nature of darts; to have this project described just on paper would be far less engaging. I would be curious to see how you encourage students to use iMovie either to document the creation process of their dartboards, but more importantly it would be interesting to see how you plan to bridge the gap between student use of Youtube for personal learning and the use of it for professional learning; the goal isn’t much different, but I wonder what sort of supports (limits/guidelines) you might need in place to encourage them to use it productively in class 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

