Networked Learning Project Blog #2: Progress

About two weeks ago I was challenged to learn a new task entirely from YouTube and help forums. See the blog post here. You will be happy to hear that I’ve made some progress! Early on, I decided to make a switch from learning Final Cut to iMovie. The app seemed to be a more accessible and easier to use–plus it was already on my iPad. In addition my students will have access to iMovie and it will be helpful if I can help them create within the app. I made more sense to master the easier out of the two then make the jump to

image

Step 1: iMovie Tutorial

Final Cut. So I started by using the tutorials in the app itself. I figured this would give me an overview of the app. It was pretty basic information and I know that I learn best visually and audibly so I quickly made the jump to YouTube.

I started with iMovie for Beginners, sounded like the perfect resource, but it was for a MacBook and not the iPad. It was a great resource but did not help me because I currently only have an iPad Pro to create with. Next I used iMovie for iPad, another great resource until I realized it was created in 2014. The app has had updates since then so I then searched for a more updated version and finally found iMovie Tutorial for iPad iOS 9 2016! It was also

image

Step 2: YouTube Research

much shorter than the other videos I had found and it provided a very quick and easy overview for me to create my first test iMovie. This video became the best resource for me so far. After I found this resource I started a practice iMovie. I played with titles and settings, adding and deleting pictures, themes and music (See in this video here!). I still need to figure out how to do a couple of things and perfect some skills but I think playing around with it might be the best way to learn. If I can’t figure it out, I plan to continue to look on YouTube to find out how to use a feature. Aside from my challenge of finding resources for iPad instead of MacBook, my biggest hurdle is time. As I mentioned in a previous post, I have almost no extra time. I’ve been involved in conferences for the last two weeks and all of my “free time” has been devoted to prepping for the next day of the conference. I’ve started using Wunderlist, a great app for to-do lists, and have been setting alarms as reminders to set specific times for me to dedicate to learning the task and completing graduate school work. This has helped me to find time to focus my work time and to not let it fall to the side.

Here is a link to my first iMovie! I used pictures from my travels in China this summer.

image

Step 3: Create! (Before)

So what’s next? I started by viewing videos, then I created my first video, and next I need to create a video for my classroom. I need to decide which project I will create a video for then collect the right pictures and maybe video clips to put it together. As I create I will try to use more features of iMovie like picture editing, video clips, and audio so I can learn more about using it. I’m excited to have something that I will use directly in my classroom.

I’d love to hear how you are using iMovie and any cool features you like to use in your own iMovies!

2 thoughts on “Networked Learning Project Blog #2: Progress

  1. Ben Rimes says:

    I love that your first realization was to completely reformulate your original goal around a new application as it was more approachable, and gave you expertise in a tool that your students will also have access to; it’s far more important to constantly look at and redefine goals based on the new information we discover, rather than trying to stick to a goal that doesn’t make as much sense once you get underway.

    Kudos for the perseverance on trying to find an up to date video for iMovie for iOS; the app has undergone a lot of changes. Learning something like this does take time, but often it’s important to keep a clear focus (or at least a practical realization of the learning) in mind. For instance, the “Trailer” function of iMovie allows you to create high-quality movie-trailer videos with minimal effort; it provides a storyboard and suggested scenes/shots to film, and then assembles it for you with music. The trailers make for great “book trailers” or visual “reports” from students to demonstrate learning. This is an old article, but still relevant explaining the creation of book trailers (http://www.techlearning.com/default.aspx?tabid=100&entryid=8604).

    Like

Leave a Reply

