Learning: Experts, Novice and Methods

I’ve been wanting to jump in to the blogging world for some time and have finally been given the right push–Grad school! I’m currently taking CEP 810 through Michigan State University and this week, I have been asked to write an essay that explores what I understand about learning, understanding, and conceptual change. The full essay (685 words) can be found here and is influenced by my reading this week of Bransford, Brown & Cocking’s (2000) How People Learn. To summarize, I’ve constructed definitions of learning and understanding. I discuss differences in learning of novice and experts in a content and the connection to teaching. I provide some instructional insights to think about when dealing with novice in our context. I hope you enjoy my thoughts. I welcome comments or reflections.

 

Reference:

Bransford, J., Brown, A.L. & Cocking, R. R. (Eds.), How people learn: Brain, mind, experience and school (pp. 3-79). Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press. Retrieved from http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?isbn=0309070368.

One thought on “Learning: Experts, Novice and Methods

  1. bravo2learning says:

    Hi Sarah!

    I like that you mentioned that being an effective teacher is not simply related to being an expert. Oftentimes, experts forget what is easy and hard for novices (Bransford, Brown & Cocking, 2000). As you wrote, it is important for teachers to understand the differences between experts and novices so that they can provide the best teaching.

    I also agree with you about the use of technology. It can be used as a tool in our classroom for our students, but it is also a resource for us. I have never thought about technology in the way as a resource for myself to learn. While I often use sites to learn or get ideas from, I enjoyed reading about how there are two important ways technology is used in the classroom (for students and teachers!).

    Thanks for sharing your insights!
    Annah

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

